Skip to main content
  • Share

5 community leaders named to Arts Council Board of Trustees

2018-2019 Arts Council New Board Members: Rick Allen, Michelle Bir, Dr. Kenjuana McCray, Sharon Smith McNair and Amy Samperton

(Fayetteville, NC) August 27, 2018 — The Arts Council of Fayetteville/Cumberland County announces the addition of five members to its Board of Trustees: Rick Allen, Michelle Bir, Dr. Kenjuana McCray, Sharon Smith McNair and Amy Samperton (They are pictured from left to right.).

Allen is owner of Nautilus Productions, LLC. Bir is a photographer for Ben Stout Construction and a travel blogger with Side Spin Media. McCray is the lead coordinator for social sciences and humanities at Fayetteville Technical Community College. McNair is a retired music educator for Cumberland County Schools, and Samperton is director of procurement and equipment for Fayetteville Technical Community College.

Founded in 1973 by a group of local visionaries, the Arts Council supports individual creativity, cultural preservation, economic development and lifelong learning through the arts. The Arts Council organizes and produces the International Folk Festival and A Dickens Holiday; spearheads public art initiatives in the community; administers grants and project support for both arts and cultural groups and individual artists; and oversees the extensive Artists in Schools program in Cumberland County and Fort Bragg. The Arts Council also is known for creating innovative exhibitions throughout the year in their Gallery at the Arts Center, 301 Hay Street in downtown Fayetteville.

# # #

The Arts Council’s grants, programs and services are funded in part by contributions from businesses and individuals, and through grants from the City of Fayetteville, Cumberland County and the N.C. Arts Council, a division of the Department of Natural & Cultural Resources.